More Postcrossing!

These are my favorite days. I love receiving my postcards and surprises! I also received a lovely letter and some ephemera from Olga in Russia.

Olga was just getting ready to celebrate the New Year and Christmas. They celebrate their Christmas on January 7th. They typically do not exchange gifts but instead have a family dinner. I imagine it to be something like our Thanksgiving. I love it when people send me extra items with their postcards. So exciting.

Side note: Given my fascination with everything Russian I have decided that I am going to attempt to teach myself the language. Can’t be to hard right?

3 responses to “More Postcrossing!

  1. Interesting! Is celebrating Christmas on January 7th a Russian thing, or something just their family does?

    I’ve heard Russian is really hard to learn! Good luck though 🙂

  2. It is a Russian thing. Pretty interesting. I’m sure it is hard, but I am hopefully getting the Rosetta Stone which uses pictures and word games to help you learn. Like hooked-on-phonics, lol.

  3. Ooo. That sounds great. I’ve heard Rosetta Stone is the best for learning languages. I think we’re going to look into getting one for Spanish. Despite being half-Cuban, I’m hopeless! v.v

Leave a Reply

